QOTD: Set Your Life on Fire

rumi quote set your life on fire

“Set your life on fire.  Seek those who fan your flames.” – Rumi

When I was engaged, I gave handmade cards to all my girlfriends at my Bachelorette with this quote on the front.  My girls and I grew up together: we were the ones who taught each other how to weather the ups and downs in relationships.  We have been through the exciting, the silly, and the tough times together, and we’ve come out stronger and closer.  Each one of us is very different from the other, but the thing we have in common is that we are strong women who love to celebrate each other and learn from and grow through our experiences with each other.  Each one of them challenges me and inspires me in her own way.  They are a huge reason why I feel that my life is so rich.

When I came to Europe, being used to friendships with years of history, it was difficult for me to adjust to the new friendships I was finding.  However, the cool opportunity this brought was finding like-minded people who shared the same interests at this stage in my life (most importantly the self-growth that comes with leaving your hometown and/or native country).  Simply being expats in the same place is not enough to make an interesting, exciting, challenging relationship, however.  I learned that it is important to surround myself with people who “fan my flames.”  I continue to seek for these types of people, and it makes all the difference.

Surround yourself with people who support you and celebrate you, who challenge you and inspire you, who excite you and ignite you.  I love you, my beautiful friends who do just that.  You know who you are :]

xx Katie

What are your thoughts?

