QOTD: Whenever I Compare Myself To Others…

gabrielle bernstein spirit junkie quote

“Whenever I compare myself to others, I remind myself: the light I see in them is a reflection of my own inner light.” -Gabrielle Bernstein, Miracles Now App

“What we admire in others is the parts of ourselves that we may not have developed or expressed yet.” Yogi Baijan, Five Sutras of the Aquarian Age

I have listened to countless Youtube videos and vlogs in which Gabby talks about this concept, and every time I think it is so beautiful.  Instead of comparing yourself and thinking you are “less than,” think about why you admire or simply feel drawn to a certain person, and realize that it’s just a part of yourself you haven’t yet brought out into the open.  

I always feel this way when I am around yogis who have been practicing for a long time – my first instinct is always to compare myself to them and think that they are “better than” I am.  But if I return to this concept, I realize that I simply am drawn to their sense of peace, self-awareness, presence in the moment, and their compassion.  These traits are within me and want to be brought to the surface, which is why I am drawn to the people who exhibit them.

Another instance when this act of comparing myself and feeling “less than” others becomes hard to resist is on Facebook or Instagram.  It’s so easy with social media to compare ourselves to others, feeling like we aren’t where we “should” be in our lives when we see that college classmate getting the job we dreamed of, or having FOMO when we see that popular chick from high school in Southeast Asia riding an elephant.  Instead of looking at their newsfeeds, feeling jealous and “less than” them, maybe we can shift our thoughts.  “Recognize that the other person is YOU.”  Identify the things about which you are feeling sensations of jealousy, and work towards making those things your reality!  

We can all become the magnificent creatures we want to be.  We just need to give our strengths time to develop and show themselves.  It doesn’t happen overnight, and it almost certainly didn’t happen overnight for the person you’re comparing yourself to, either.

xx Katie

What are your thoughts?

