QOTD: The Souls of Books

carlos ruiz zafon shadow of the wind quote

“Every book, every volume, has a soul.  The soul of the person who wrote it and of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it.  Every time a book changes hands, every time someone runs his eyes down its pages, its spirit grows and strengthens.” Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Shadow of the Wind

UGH YESSSSS.  My friends know I can gush about books forever.  The POWER of WORDS, man!!!  My kindred spirit and soul sister Rachel once sent me a quote that read something along the lines of, “Borrow this book not only because it’s great but because I want you to know me better.”  The magic of books is palpable when I read a beloved book of a friend and feel their spirit and why they connected with it, when I am transported to another time and place, when I lose myself in the story of a character who becomes a friend.  It’s so cool to think about that magic as a bond between all the souls who have been touched by that same story, and all the souls that will be touched by it in the future.  

Remember that by sharing books you are enriching a friend’s life, and also strengthening the soul of the book you are passing on :]

xx Katie

One thought on “QOTD: The Souls of Books

What are your thoughts?

