My Packing Essentials!

Ryanair wing

Being on a plane is rarely comfortable…unless maybe if you fly first class, which I certainly don’t, haha!  (IT’S ON MY BUCKET LIST.)  However, dealing with the discomfort of the cramped seats and figuring out where to put all your little things is a small price to pay for the amazingness of travel :]  Through lots of trial and error, I’ve discovered my essentials for travelling as efficiently and as comfortably as possible, and I bring these things with me whether I’m going for a quick weekend trip or a long vacation.

  1. Big scarf

20151209_124749

Even if it’s summer or I am travelling to a warm destination, I still bring a lightweight wrap: not moving for an extended period of time on a plane usually calls for something to throw on!  Big scarves doubling as blankets give the illusion of comfort, and if I want to sleep, I pull it up over my face to block out the light…and hide whatever my face might be doing while I am unconscious ;]

  1. Eye mask

20151209_123016

If I do want to sleep (which I usually do – I’m a little bit narcoleptic, hehe), my eye mask is my best friend.  Not because I can’t sleep with light, but because it’s another way to become cozier and to trick my body into relaxing.

  1. Travel-size liquid containers

20151209_123233

When I was younger, it was fine to use the cheap “shampoo-slash-body-slash-face-wash” hotel soap, but in my late twenties I feel the difference in my skin and hair after only one use.  My aunt gave me a set of labelled containers for travel when I left for Europe, and they are the best thing ever!  Now, I can stay with the same skin- and hair-care routine when I travel, while knowing that the containers are carry-on approved.

  1. Hair tool holder

(NO PHOTO ‘CAUSE IT’S IN THE MAIL!)

I seriously don’t know what’s taken me so long to invest in this.  My straightener is always the last thing I pack, because I obviously put it away after I get ready, but it’s always scalding hot, so I have to kill time for at least ten minutes unless I want to melt my hairbrush or burn a hole in my clothes.  Now I can save myself the time and hassle: I can put the straightener away immediately and go!  

  1. Jewelry organizer

20151209_123523

As you can see, I have a holder with a good number of little pockets, and it’s definitely better than nothing, but I recommend buying something with even more compartments to keep every piece separate (I have to cram three pairs of earrings into each pocket).  For a few years I have been supplementing with small, transparent jewelry bags to ensure that my necklaces stay separate and my dangly earrings don’t tangle and break.

  1. Pouches or bags

20151209_123336

Even if it’s plastic bags recycled from shopping, I like everything to have its place: shirts in one bag, underwear, bras, and socks in another, and bottoms in yet another.  Toiletries have their own bag, and electronic stuff has its own pouch.  Trying to find a specific thing becomes much easier, which is important because I want my time in the hotel room to be easy and stress-free, leaving me calm and ready for whatever adventures the travel day has in store!  

Also always in my carry-on:

a book, music loaded up on my phone (I’ve gotten the seat with the broken screen on a full flight – argh)

a notebook

lotion (flying is drying)

earphones

WATER, WATER, WATER (again, flying is drying – hydrateeeeee!)

a healthy snack (nuts, seeds, fruit – something non-processed to help my – ahem – “digestion” stay on track amid all the processed airplane food)

What are your travel essentials?!

xx Katie

One thought on “My Packing Essentials!

  1. When I used to travel on business we had the saying, “Don’t forget your passport and your American Express Card, everything else you can get!”

    Like

What are your thoughts?

