The Best TED Talks and Vlogs To Change Your Life!

TED idea worth spreadingAbout a year ago, I began listening to TED Talks on my commute to work, which has radically changed the way I feel about said commute.  Instead of dreading the mass of people in the subway and having to walk the same route every single day (it can become so monotonous!), I now look forward to that time.  Finally, my hour walking and switching between metros and buses doesn’t feel like wasted time counting down the minutes between Point A and Point B.  Instead, it’s now a great part of my day in which I get to expose myself to new ideas and get inspired!  While Skyping my friend tonight (love you, Rosa!), she told me she likes to listen to podcasts and watch TED Talks while she gets ready in the morning – which is when I like to have Youtube videos on in the background by Gabby Bernstein, Gala Darling, or Marie Forleo!  It’s a great way to start the day with a positive message.

In case you’re interested in doing the same, or already do and want some new material to watch, here I’ve posted some of my favorite videos that have influenced my thinking and inspired me! (In no particular order!)

Gabrielle Bernstein at Wanderlust Speakeasy

***This is a long one so if you don’t have an hour, start listening at the 30-minute mark to hear what really stuck with me: Gabby’s discussion of the Five Sutras for the Aquarian Age (AMAZING MESSAGES).

“Recognize that the other person is you.”

How To Find Work You Love by Scott Dinsmore

“What is the work you can’t not do?”

The Lovetarien Diet by Gabrielle Bernstein

Only choose to digest and put into your body the things that are going to serve it and enrich it.”

The Power of Vulnerability by Brene Brown

“Vulnerability sounds like truth and feels like courage.  Truth and courage aren’t always comfortable, but they are never weakness.” “Vulnerability is the birthplace of innovation, creativity and change.”

Why 30 Is Not The New 20 by Meg Jay

“Forget about having an identity crisis and get some identity capital. …Do something that adds value to who you are. Do something that’s an investment in who you might want to be next.”

Your Elusive Creative Genius by Elizabeth Gilbert

“‘Ole!’ to you just for having the sheer human love and stubbornness to keep showing up.”

A Life of Purpose by Rick Warren

***Rick Warren in a pastor, so there is a lot of religion and God in this.  Not being religious myself, I choose to think of God as Love, which makes me feel more comfortable listening to this.  The principles are the same no matter what you want to call it: The Divine, God, Allah, Love, etc. :]

“What are you doing with what you’ve been given? …Do what you’re wired to do.  God smiles when you be you.”

Why We All Need to Practice Emotional First Aid by Guy Winch

“‘Oh, you’re feeling depressed? Just shake it off, it’s all in your head!’  Can you imagine saying that to somebody with a broken leg: ‘Oh, just walk it off, it’s all in your leg!'”

How To Handle Family Drama! by Gabrielle Bernstein

“Your family knows how to push your buttons most, because they are the ones who put them there.”

How To Handle FOMO by Gabrielle Bernstein

“We have to trust that if we’re meant to be somewhere, we will get there.”

Let me know which ones you connect with!  Also, I love recommendations, so if you have any life-changers, leave me some links in the Comments below!!

xx Katie

What are your thoughts?